WSOP Main Event Champ Joe McKeehen Wins Bracelet #2

Joe mcKeehen won his third WSOP bracelet when he took down the $3,200 online high roller

Joe McKeehen got his hands on his third WSOP bracelet by winning the $3,200 NLHE High Roller.

McKeehen’s latest victory puts him in the same bracket as some of poker’s biggest stars. Antonio Esfandiari, Jonathan Duhamel, Justin Bonomo, Scott Seiver, Doug Polk and Nick Schulman also have a trio of bracelets. As so Adrian Mateos, Barry Greenstein, David “Chip” Reese and Vanessa Selbst.

Some 496 players bought into this event online at and 63 of them won prize money. Chris Ferguson burst the bubble, much to the delight of his army of haters. This paved the way for the likes of Matt Affleck, Maria Konnikova, Ali Imsirovic, and Phil Galfond to cash. Four-time bracelet winner Loren Klein finished in 18th with Dave “Dunningkrugr” Alfa falling in ninth-place.

Maguire Leads Final Table, McKeehen Third

Clayton “nevarlucky” Maguire was the man to catch at the final table with McKeehen third in chips. Each of the eight finalists locked up $28,950, the sum awarded to David “newjerz05” Jackson. Jackson and Lee “SoccerDJ” Vlastaris entered a preflop raising war that resulted in Jackson four-bet jamming with Kd-Qd. Vlastaris snap-called with Ad-As and it as game over for Jackson.

Vlastaris claimed the lead when he sent Nathan “innate9” Russler to the rail in seventh. Russler three-bet all-in with Ad-5h and Vlastaris called with Ac-Qc to reduce the player count.

Maguire went from hero to zero and fell in sixth-place. He pushed all-in for 12 big blinds with Jd-3d and Frank “thewholefunk” Funaro called with Ah-7d. A seven on the turn left Maguire needing a jack on the river. It never came as the 3h landed to leave five players in the hunt for the title.

McKeehen, the 2015 WSOP Main Event champion, was maintaining his stack while players dropped like flies around him. The action folded to Funaro in the small blind and he set Vlastaris in for his 17.5 big blind stack. Vlastaris called with Jh-Th and was against Ac-3h. A three on the flop was enough for Funaro to stack his opponent.

Zhi Hong “Jaydestar17” Huang fell in fourth, again at the hands of Funaro. Funaro then busted Roland “prngls12” Israelshvili in third. Israelashvili holds the record for the most WSOP cashes without winning a bracelet. That unwanted tag is still around his neck thanks to Ah-9s not getting there against Funaro’s 6c-6h.

McKeehan Stages Epic Comeback

Funaro faced McKeehen heads-up with a 9,153,383 to 3,246,617 chip lead, almost 3-to-1. McKeehen’s experience showed and he not only drew level but won all 12,400,000 chips in play. The final hand took place at the 80,000/160,000/16,000a level. McKeehen min-raised to 320,000 and called when Funaro jammed for 2,759,541. Funaro showed 7d-6d to McKeehen’s Ad-9d. Neither player improved on the 8d-4h-Ks-4c-Qc, which handed McKeehen his third bracelet.

Place Player Prize
1 Joe “fanofdapoker” McKeehen $352,985
2 Frank “thewholefunk” Funaro $219,089
3 Roland “prngls12” Israelashvili $148,975
4 Zhi Hong “Jaydestar17” Huang $103,136
5 Lee “SoccerDJ” Vlastaris $72,979
6 Clayton “nevarlucky” Maguire $52,624
7 Nathan “innate9” Russler $38,601
8 David “newjerz05” Jackson $28,951

2020 Bracelet Winners So Far

Event Entrants Champion Prize
Event #1: $500 No-Limit Hold’em Kick-Off 1,715 Jonathan Dokler $130,426
Event #2: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em 8-Max Deepstack 919 Louis Lynch $168,586
Event #3: $400 No-Limit Hold’em 2,091 Robert Kuhn $115,850
Event #4: $500 No-Limit Hold’em Super Turbo 1,179 Matthew Bode $97,091
Event #5: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Freezeout 854 Allen Chang $161,286
Event #6: $600 PLO8 6-Handed 833 Nathan Gamble $89,424
Event #7: $800 No-Limit Hold’em Knockout Deepstack 989 Joon Kim $103,127
Event #8: $800 No-Limit Hold’em Freezeout 1,479 Alan Goehring $119,399
Event #9: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em 6-Max 1,026 Ron McMillen $188,214
Event #10: $600 No-Limit Hold’em MonsterStack 1,505 Ryan Torgersen $172,361
Event #11: $500 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo Deepstack 6-Max 1,691 Raman Afanasenka $128,601
Event #12: $500 No-Limit Hold’em The BIG 500 2,427 Ryan Depaulo $159,563
Event #13: $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em High Roller Freezeout 649 Michael Lech $164,249
Event #14: $3,200 No-Limit Hold’em High Roller 496 Joe McKeehen $352,985

Matthew Pitt

If it’s something you can play online for real money, chances are Matthew knows a bit about it. He’s been writing about slots, craps and poker for the better part of the last decade. He’s written for PokerNews, PartyPoker and many other respected online gambling websites during the last nine years.


Joseph Sabe Banks a $507,978 Score at the Wynn Millions

Who Are The Biggest Poker Winners From Israel

Benjamin Diebold Reels In Career Best Score of $96,810