Hellmuth, Ivey and Negreanu Confirmed for WSOP Europe

Former WSOP Europe Main Event champion Phil Hellmuth

The 2019 World Series of Poker Europe runs from October 13th – November 2nd at King’s Resorts, Rozvadov and the attendance of a trio of the world’s biggest stars is confirmed. Phil Hellmuth, Phil Ivey and Daniel Negreanu are all playing at the WSOP Europe festival adding even more prestige to it.

This is the 11th edition of WSOP Europe and it looks set to be one of the biggest. King’s Resorts added a handful of tournaments to the already busy schedule, including a €250,000 Super High Roller. Hellmuth is not known for playing in such high buy-in tournaments, but both Ivey and Negreanu are.

2019 WSOP Europe Event Start Dates

  • October 13th – €350 Opener
  • October 14th – €550 Pot Limit Omaha Eight-Handed
  • October 16th – €1,350 Mini Main Event
  • October 16th – €250,000 Super High Roller
  • October 17th – €2,500 8-Game Mix
  • October 18th – €25,500 Short Deck High Roller
  • October 19th – €1,100 Turbo Bounty Hunter
  • October 20th – €25,500 Platinum High Roller
  • October 21st – €25,500 Mixed Games Championship
  • October 22nd – €2,200 Pot Limit Omaha
  • October 23rd – €100,000 Diamond High Roller
  • October 24th – €2,500 Short Deck
  • October 25th – €10,350 Main Event
  • October 28th – €550 Colossus

Hellmuth Hoping For a Repeat of 2012

Hellmuth won his 13th bracelet at 2012 WSOP Europe, which took place in Cannes, France. The impressive victory saw Hellmuth become the first player to win WSOP and WSOP Europe Main Event titles. Hellmuth locked up the €1,022,376 top prize after defeating Ukraine’s Sergii Baranov heads-up.

Now 54, Hellmuth proclaims to be the best no-limit hold’em player in the world. Some say he is one of the est against bad players. The truth lies somewhere in the middle. “Poker Brat” is in solid form having finished sixth and fifth in his last two tournaments for a combined $190,592.

Ivey To Let His Poker Do The Talking

Ten-time WSOP bracelet winner Ivey is a surprise inclusion in the list of confirmed stars because he has been in the headlines for all the wrong reasons lately. Ivey owes Borgata Casino more than $10 million after being found guilty of “edge-sorting” during a high-stakes baccarat session.

Borgata has taken steps to seize Ivey’s assets, but the poker legend seems to be one step ahead of them. This changed during the summer when Borgata successfully claimed the $124,410 Ivey won in the $50,000 Poker Players Championship. Subsequently, Daniel Cates and Illya Trincher have since launched a legal case to reclaim their share of Ivey’s winnings. They claiming they staked Ivey in the 2019 WSOP event and are, therefore, owed money.

Negreanu Chasing WSOP Player of the Year

Six-time WSOP bracelet winner Negreanu, who recently split from PokerStars, will play a busy schedule. Negreanu is third in the WSOP Player of the Year race and the WSOP Europe events award plenty of points.

Negreanu has 3,166.24 points in the POY standings, meaning only two players have more points. Namely, Shaun Deeb (3,280.13) and Robert Campbell (3,418.78) have more points. The Canadian will play the €10,350 Main Event and likely enter the high rollers and super high rollers.

The History of WSOP Europe

London hosted the inaugural WSOP Europe festival back in 2007. Thomas Bihl won the first-ever WSOP Europe bracelet. Norway’s Annette Obrestad won the WSOP Europe Main Event for £1 million, defeating John Tabatabai heads-up. Obrestad is still the youngest-ever WSOP bracelet winner, securing hers aged 18-years and 364 days.

The festival stayed in London from 2008-2010, but called France home for the next three years. No WSOP Europe ran in 2014 or 2016 as the WSOP rotated between Europe and Asia-Pacific, before ditching that idea.

King’s Resort in Rozvadov, Czech Republic has hosted the WSOP Europe in 2017 and 2018. Europe’s biggest poker room is more than adequate to host such a prestigious festival. Jack Sinclair, of the United Kingdom, is the reigning WSOP Europe champion. The Brit defeated Hungary’s Laszlo Bujtas heads-up to bank €1,122,239.

Past WSOP Europe Main Event Winners

Year Champion Prize
2007 Annette Obrestad £1,000,000
2008 John Juanda £868,800
2009 Barry Shulman £801,603
2010 James Bord £830,401
2011 Elio Fox €1,400,000
2012 Phil Hellmuth €1,058,403
2013 Adrian Mateos €1,000,000
2015 Kevin MacPhee €883,000
2017 Marti Roca de Torres €1,115,207
2018 Jack Sinclair €1,122,239
Matthew Pitt

Matthew Pitt

If it’s something you can play online for real money, chances are Matthew knows a bit about it. He’s been writing about slots, craps and poker for the better part of the last decade. He’s written for PokerNews, PartyPoker and many other respected online gambling websites during the last nine years.


Sam Trickett Steps Away From Poker

Improve Your Win Rate With a Semi-Bluff

Dan Bilzerian Feature on Poker After Dark